Who I am

My name is Leah Ness and I am a wife, daughter, sister, writer, part time nanny, reader, adventurer, craft-er, and, most importantly, child of the King of Kings. This blog is about me, my stories, and, best of all, God.

The title of this blog is my favorite Bible verse. Years and years ago my grandfather gave me a picture he’d made with this verse on it and it has been my favorite verse ever since. Fast forward a bit and here I am trying to launch a career as a writer. My first novel is called Ransomed. It’s about perceived and genuine freedom and captivity. I called it Ransomed because the book is about a young man who gets kidnapped and held for ransom and I was trying to make it a clever metaphor. The title had nothing to do with my favorite verse because I general read out of the New Kind James and there it says, ‘I have redeemed you.’ Not ten minutes ago, I was being lazy and looking up the verse on my computer so I could copy and paste it and there it was, the New Living Translation with the word ‘ransomed’ in it. Isn’t God cool?!

I know it may seem like a small thing but that’s how God speaks to me, He repeats Himself and I keep finding the same word(s) everywhere. So when something like this happens, where the title I just happened to choose for my book a few years ago just happens to be in my favorite verse from several years ago, it’s basically my equivalent of receiving a love note from my heavenly Father. The One who ransomed me from sin and death.

I don’t know how God speaks to you specifically but the most reliable way He uses to speak to all of us is through the Scriptures so I’d like to take a moment to share some encouragement from the Bible.

Galatians 5:1 says, ‘It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.’ Christ did not sacrifice His life on the cross and rise from the dead so that we could just eke out a barely-getting-by existence of hum-drum-ery. He came that ‘we might have life, and have it more abundantly’ (John 10:10) and He commands us to rejoice in Him, and again I say rejoice (Philippians 4:4)! So if you are feeling just beat down by the world today and dragging your feet through the mud, I would just like to encourage you to look up and put your hope and trust in Jesus. He wants you to experience a full and joyful freedom that only comes through Him. His yoke is easy and His burden is light (Matthew 11:30) and He just wants to love on you. Go ahead, let Him!  

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

Thoughts?

