Delighting in Weakness

Image

Today, I am tired, and not just because I didn’t sleep well. I ache, and not just because I don’t feel well. Today is a weak day. Today, I hold tightly to 2Cor.12:9:

‘But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.’

I’m burned out. But I’m not upset about it. I’m happy to be tired and weak and burned out.

‘For Christ’s sake, I delight in weakness’ because it makes me need Him. If I had the strength to soldier on by myself, I wouldn’t rely on Him and sit before Him and take time to rest in His presence.

I should delight in insults.’ I read yesterday that we should ‘love people more than we fear them.’ I shouldn’t be afraid of possibly stepping on a few toes every now and then. I’m a Christian; insults are an occupational hazard. In fact, they can actually be proof positive that I’m striving for God’s approval rather than man’s. (Gal. 1:10)

I should delight in hardships’ because they draw me closer to God. They give me the chance to trust in Him, to watch Him work miracles in my life. They point out areas of sin and idolatry and bring me back to the core assurance that ‘I know that my redeemer lives, and that in the end He will stand on the earth’ (Job 19:25). The battle is already won, my life is secure, and I know that Jesus will return to take me home with Him for eternity. Hardships give me occasion to remember what is most important.

I should delight in persecution‘ because I know satan and his minions do not want God glorified in my life and they will use every trick in the book to prevent it. If I keep running up against walls, it’s a good sign I’m running in the right direction. The wide road is nice and cushy and has far fewer obstacles. The narrow road is not an easy one to walk, and we often get a lot of grief from wide road travelers for taking it. But this is the road that leads to life. (Mat. 7:13-14)

I should delight in difficulties’ because they strip away my self-reliance, my pride, my idols, and my vain plans and leave me open handed and broken before the Cross. I usually don’t call on God when I have a paper cut. I go get a band-aid and leave Him alone. I don’t want to bother Him. But when I’m sick and injured and bleeding, I run to Him and beg Him for His presence and His help. And when I’m in that state, even a paper cut is too much for me to handle, so I go to Him for that, too.

People say they don’t follow Jesus because they don’t need a crutch to get through life. But Jesus is not a crutch; He is the entire life support system. He doesn’t just help us get through life; He is life.

Twelve years ago, a terrorist attack left most of us feeling weak, and so many today are still feeling an echo of the pain from that weakness. Today, my aunt is weak, and her family and friends feel weak as they sit in the hospital and wait. His power is made perfect in their weakness.

Today, I feel weak. But I will boast in my weakness. “For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2Cor.12:10) Christ’s grace is sufficient for me. I will stop struggling and rest in Him, knowing that if I ‘cast my cares on the Lord, He will sustain me.’ (Ps.55:22) I will boast in my desperate and constant need for a Savior.

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

Thoughts?

