How to Keep Time from Running Out

Image

I have a friend who’s spending a year in the mission field in Guatemala. One thing that she’s mentioned about the people there that really stuck with me is the slow-paced lives they lead. She said they don’t adhere to a strict schedule, but take time to look after one another.

That sounds so nice to me.

Here in America, we always have somewhere to be and something to do. I have so many projects on the back burner that I’m sure most of them will be toast by the time I get to them.

I know I’m not the only one who dreams of 48hr days.

I’ll look back at some days and compare the list of things I wanted to do to the list of things I actually got done and I grow instantly depressed. Where is the time going?

I think the answer can be found in Eph.5:15-16:

“See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil.”

What does redeeming the time look like? It will look different to everyone, but we should all have two daily tasks in common. Bible reading and prayer time.

I’m aware that by calling these actions ‘tasks’ I’m straying dangerously close to works based religion. After all, if we don’t feel like spending time in the Word and prayer, we shouldn’t force ourselves to do it in our own power, right?

Right. But if we aren’t eager to spend time with God daily, then we need to do some serious heart examining.

God should always come first; there should always be room for Him in the schedule. That time needs to be set aside, daily, and protected from the rest of our hectic lives. What’s more, we should treasure that time, and look forward to it.

For me personally, the time I spend on the computer writing blogs and doing research seems incredibly important to me. But honestly, how many of you wonderful people reading this will actually go into a closet and cry of I miss a post here and there? And how much of my research is so time sensitive that it really needs to be done now?

I’ve realized that I actually waste a lot more time when I’m doing the things I think are important instead of the things God is telling me are important.

Sometimes, while I’m working, I’ll feel God tugging on my heart to stop and spend time with Him. But I’m such a workaholic that I actually tell the Almighty Creator of the Universe that I’m busy at the moment and He’ll have to take a number. I’m also a multi-tasker and – I kid you not – I’ve actually asked God before if I can just do my prayer time while I’m showering.

I can’t believe He even wants to talk to me after I tell Him those things. But He does. He’s still after my heart. He’s still pursuing me.

How can I not make time for Him when He loves me like that?

You know how people say that in the end, no one wishes they spent more time in the office? Well, I can guarantee that no one ever wishes they’d spent less time with God.

Time is precious and in our world today there seems to be less and less of it. But God is far more precious still, and spending our time with Him is the ultimate way to redeem it. And once you have that priority straight, all the rest will sort itself out.

Seek God at the beginning of each day, then follow Him through it. Let Him govern your to-do list and ask Him how He would have you spend your time. It may be that He has different tasks in mind for you than you do for yourself. I know that whatever they are, they are a much better use of your time. 

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

4 responses to “How to Keep Time from Running Out

  • bringing bread

    I love this verse about redeeming the time! With God’s help, this is what I endeavor to do.

  • Ally

    I may have also had that praying in the shower conversation with God 😉
    My struggle with time is not in the doing things, but finding time for rest. I tend to place the need for sleep and down time disconnecting from life before time with God. He graciously reminded me this weekend that I should be resting in Him.

Thoughts?

