My Roller Coaster Life

Image

I love roller coasters. The heights, the swoopy feelings, the upside-downess of it all! What a rush! But I do not like it when my life is a roller coaster.

A couple weeks ago, everything was going good. My husband and I both had a great, Mon-Sun, happy, smiley experience. Life was going our way.

The following week? Yeah, not so much. I was moody, emotional, stressed out, depressed, worried, and disappointed more than once.

The funny thing is though, other than my attitude, nothing much changed between weeks 1 and 2. Nobody got hurt, we didn’t have a crisis like unpaid bills, neither my husband nor I were sick…. It was just a bum week.

But I panicked anyway. What’s going on? What happened? Everything was going so well. I was doing so well! I thought I had this whole trust, rest in the Lord, live a good Godly life thing licked! Lord, did you see how smoothly last week went?! What the heck is going on?!

A few blog posts ago I wrote about how no matter what, we will never have to begin from square one again. I should take my own advice. But it wasn’t even so much that I was worried about starting over: I was more concerned with getting stuck.

Sometimes I feel like I’m doing a perpetual box-step: one step forward, one step back, and consistently side stepping the issues. I feel stuck. I panic. I wonder what went wrong.

Answer: nothing.

People (me very most of all) can be such emotional little critters. We go so much by ‘feelings.’ I feel sad, therefore life is sad. I feel scared, therefore my fear is justified. I feel overwhelmed, therefore I can’t go on.

But the ups and downs are not something to panic over. It’s just life. That’s the way life works. Some days are cake, others are brussel sprouts. That’s just the way it is.

As humans, our emotions are in a constant state of flux and there are so many different variables that dictate which way we’re going. It could be a bad dream that caused us to wake up grumpy. Maybe we’ve received disappointing news on two consecutive days. Perhaps two family members are fighting and we’re getting hit with shrapnel. It could be a million different little things that are just poking at us.

But (let me say it again) that’s just life. It is perfectly natural to experience emotional highs and lows. And everyone is at a different level of extremity. I, for example, soar, and then plunge, in proper roller coaster fashion. Then there are some people, like my dad, who simply frown a little more on some days than others.

The point is, we need to remain positive, stand firm on God’s Word, and accept that life is going to be life. Instead of complaining that my glass is only half full, I should be grateful I have a glass and that there is something in it.

The wonderful news in my topsey turvey life is that:

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. (Heb. 13:8)

Everything about life is in flux, except Him. Everything on earth is temporary, except Him. Every foundation we build on will crumble, except Him.

I’ve been discovering over and over again that if God is the bottom line of my life, then the bottom can never fall out.

So let the bad times roll, because good days are just around the corner, life is just life, God is in control, and I’m determined to enjoy the ride.

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

4 responses to “My Roller Coaster Life

Thoughts?

