Did You Take a Wrong Turn?

magical path through trees

This is a letter I recently received from my grandfather:

“In Him… being predestined according to the purpose of Him who works all things according to the counsel of His will.”
EPHESIANS 1:11

Here we have a three-fold witness to God’s Ultimate Purpose and Intention in Thought.
First, God has a Will. Second, God’s Will is “all things in Christ.” Third, God is working all things according to this Purpose.

The fact that God has a Will, and works everything according to this Will, is critical. There is a Purpose, a reason for being. Nothing is created apart from this Purpose. You are not an accident; you are not a mistake; you are not just a quirk of fate or a victim of circumstance. There is no such thing as “luck.” There is an infinitely wise Creator Who stands behind His Creation, and He has brought nothing into being without having first completed it in His Own Mind first. He does not make things up as He goes along, reacting to difficulties with a new contingency plan when things do not go as expected. God has no “Plan B.” He uses everything – the good, the bad, and the ugly – to accomplish His Purpose.

The Irresistable Kingdom by Chip Brogen

I wanted to share this with you especially because of the last bit: “God has no ‘Plan B.’” I found that extremely encouraging.

For as long as I can remember, whenever things start to go awry, one of my first thoughts is, ‘Where did I go wrong?’ I assume  that if hit an apparent dead end, or if the road has suddenly gotten very rocky, it’s because I’ve taken a wrong turn.

What I often fail to remember is that God has taken my human weaknesses into account.

When you plan a long road trip, you make allowances for things like pit stops, eating breaks, traffic, roadwork, getting lost, etc. In the same way, God makes allowances for us. He also has the added benefit of being able to see all the way down the road.

The situation is never out of His control. Even when we sin, make mistakes, blatantly disobey Him, God’s plan for us is still in place and He has the power, and inclination, to get us back on track.

He knows what’s coming. He has always known. He doesn’t have to think on His feet, or ‘re-calculate,’ or pull out ‘Plan B.’ He’s got it, from start to finish.

God is never taken by surprise. When we come up against dead ends, or cliff drops, or steep inclines, it’s because that’s where God wants us, because He has a plan for us there that will bring Him glory and complete His good work.

If you’re looking at your life today and wondering where you zigged when you should have zagged, remember that God has already taken your ‘wrong turns’ into account.

And it’s all going according to plan. 

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jer.29:11)  

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

8 responses to “Did You Take a Wrong Turn?

Thoughts?

