pursued in prayer

This is a post I read yesterday that gave me so much to think about, I decided to pass it on. God bless and enjoy your Friday!

Raising Love

October 17:

Prayer does not equip us for greater works – prayer is the greater work.

Yet we think of prayer as some commonsense exercise that prepares us for God’s work.

Prayer is the battle.

Yet we refuse to pray unless it thrills or excites us, which is the most intense form of spiritual selfishness.

*Excerpts taken from My Utmost for HIs Highest

I have often wondered if other Christians struggle with prayer the way that I do.  Certainly I am not alone, if prayer is the greater work.  And if it is, then it is certainly a thing that Satan would try to hinder and pervert.

The call to pray early in the morning is one I’m really having a hard time with now that school has started.  This could be for a number of reasons, but two really stand out to me:

  1. I’m tired.  Prayer, pressing in is…

View original post 470 more words

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

Thoughts?

