What God Can’t Do

Image

A lot of people, Christians included, believe that God can do anything. But actually, He can’t.

Wait! Don’t leave yet; I’m not a blaspheming heretic!

Take a look with me at 2 Timothy 2:13:

“If we are faithless,
He remains faithful;
He cannot deny Himself.”

No, this is not semantics, this is not dated or for the time it was written only. It’s a promise.

God is God. He has to be God. He can’t not be God.

That means that He has to be true to Himself and to His promises. He cannot lie.

Titus 1:2 says:

“…in hope of eternal life which God, who cannot lie, promised before time began…”

That means that when Rom.5:5 tells us ‘hope does not disappoint,’ hope does not disappoint.

When Psalm 55:22 says “Cast your burden on the Lord, And He shall sustain you; He shall never permit the righteous to be moved,” we know that He will sustain us and we shall not be moved.

When Deut.31:6 promises that “He will not leave you nor forsake you,” it means that He will not leave you nor forsake you.

I could go on, and on, and on. The Bible is filled with promises: Is. 46:4, Is. 43:2, 1Pet.5:7, Jer.2:11, 2Cron. 20:15b, etc, etc,etc.

And God can not break a single one of them.

The other day I cried out to the Lord in my human weakness and I told Him that I felt like He was letting me down. And He reminded me that as of today, I have never gone hungry (Prov.10:3), I have always been clothed and sheltered (Matt.6:31-32), I’ve never been left on my own (Deut. 31:8), and my forever is secure (2 Cor. 4:16-18).

God told me, quite clearly, that I have more faith in the impossibility that He will let me down, than I do in the fact that He can’t.

So I’m letting go and letting God. I’m raising empty hands to praise my Savior, who promises to love me (Gen.1:1-Rev.22:21), a promise He can’t break.

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

4 responses to “What God Can’t Do

  • theyknowHISvoice

    Loved reading this! THANK YOU! 🙂

  • lilmoe24

    This is wonderful.

    It’s so simple to forget that Isaiah 55:11 says:

    “So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.”

    Just because we can’t see the fruit of our prayers now, or the promise God made us coming together right in front of our eyes, it doesn’t mean He won’t do it. If He said it, it’s happening.

    • Leah Ness

      I’m very glad you enjoyed it. Of all the things God’s been teaching me lately, this is the one I was most excited to share. I’m so glad God used it to bless you! Thanks for reading and for your encouraging feedback!

Thoughts?

