I Have a TARDIS in my Office

IMG-20130130-00154

It’s true. As I’ve mentioned before, my amazing husband built me a life sized replica of the space/time machine from my favorite show and proposed to me in it.

Furthermore, he specifically designed it to come apart so that we could take it with us to our new home after we were married. So as I type this, I sit not three yards away from a huge, beautifully hand-made TARDIS.

I couldn’t believe it when I saw it for the first time. My husband placed it in the park where we’d had our first date and told me to meet him there. So I drove around the corner and actually had to do a double take. My husband (along with a friend – Thanks Dave!) spent three months working on it in secret, never revealing the true reason behind why he was so tired and sore at the end of the day.

Nobody has ever done anything that thoughtful for me before and it takes my breath away to think of it.

The trouble is, I’ve kind of stopped thinking about it. It’s been almost nine months since he gave it to me, and I’ve seen it almost every day since then. As shameful as it is to admit, I don’t really notice it anymore. I’ve gotten used to it.

I have to actually make myself stop and look at it and think about what went into creating it before I can actually start appreciating it again.

The sad thing is, it’s the same way with my relationship with God. The Almighty Creator of the Universe actually came to earth, in the form of a helpless baby so that He could die to save me. And I don’t notice anymore.

Have you ever held a baby while they were sick and they’re sobbing hysterically because they can’t tell you what’s wrong? What about when a toddler scraps his knee for the first time and they cry like they’ve been betrayed?

Just think about everyday life and how hard and frustrating it can get, and how hurtful it can be. Jesus signed up for all that.

Then He went through His entire ministry of service only to be rejected and betrayed by those He had sacrificed so much for. He was beaten, spat on, ridiculed, and nailed, nailed, to a cross. Not only an extremely painful execution, but a shameful one as well.

And more than any of that, He felt the weight of sin for the first time. Not His own sin, but ours.

You know that feeling of depression and guilt you experience when you know you are walking in sin instead of with God and you feel that separation from Him? Multiply that times every sin that anyone who has ever lived or ever will live has ever committed and you will catch barely a glimpse of what it was like on the cross.

Even if I were the only person to ever believe in Jesus, He still would have gone through that whole ordeal for me. That’s how much He loves me.

How is that not my first thought every morning when I wake up?

And that’s to say nothing about all the blessings and provisions He’s given me. All the lessons He’s lovingly taught me, all the times He’s given me a reason to laugh, to smile. All the amazing people He’s given me the opportunity to love. And I walk right by it; the amazing gift that is Christ in me, the hope of glory.

This world is so noisy. It can even drown out a TARDIS.

What are you taking for granted today?

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

6 responses to “I Have a TARDIS in my Office

Thoughts?

