Procrastinating

Image

This is a story I’ve heard before a couple times and I thought I’d pass it along.

One day, satan decided to hold a meeting with his top three advisers. The soul quota for the month was down and he was eager to find more ways of trapping humans.

He explained the issue to his minions and they all pondered it for a few minutes.

Finally the first one spoke up and said, “I know! Let’s tell the humans there is no God!”

satan shook his head at the demon. “That’s pathetic. We could never pull off a lie that big. Every human is born with a basic understanding of the truth that God exists. He set up creation to testify to His existence.”

The demon fell silent and there was more thinking.

Suddenly, the second adviser exclaimed, “I’ve got it! We’ll tell them there’s no hell.”

satan sighed in disgust. “Of course there’s a hell. A basic knowledge of right and wrong and punishment is built into every human. They all know, at least a rudimentary level, that there are consequences for wrong doing.”

Silent thinking resumed.

At last, the third demon said softly, “Let’s tell them there’s no hurry.”

“Brilliant!” satan exclaimed. “We’ll catch souls by the thousands!”

Don’t put God off until tomorrow. It may not be there.  

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

Thoughts?

