Courtroom Drama

courtroom-drama-1

People can be very defensive. If you’ve ever watched the People’s Court for more than a few minutes, you’ve probably seen people tripping over themselves, and others, in a desperate attempt to prove their innocence, or, at the very least, explain their actions.

I think many Christians do the same. I know this because I’m one of them.

When I mess up – break a rule or fail God in some way – I feel immediate self-condemnation. I issue dozens of apologies to those involved, God especially, try to excuse my behavior, and wait nervously for the judge to don his black cap.

I make a terrible defense attorney.

Thankfully, I don’t have to testify in my own defense.

Heb.4:14 says:

“Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession.”  

In the Old Testament, the high priest was the mediator for the people. He was the one who stepped forward and presented the sacrifices on their behalf.

When Jesus went to the cross and died for our sins He was presenting the sacrifice on our behalf. But unlike the insufficient lambs that had to be sacrificed again and again, Jesus was the Spotless Lamb (1Pet.1:19), the perfect Sacrifice. His work on the cross was the ultimate atonement and ‘it was finished.’

That means that when we sit before the Judge, God, we don’t even have to try and plead our case. In fact, we shouldn’t. In a court room, it’s ill advised for the defendant to speak out of turn.

Jesus stands as our mediator before God and pleads our case. And God finds us innocent.

“There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.” (Rom.8:1)

Please note the bit about walking according to the Spirit. Just because Jesus can get the charges dropped, doesn’t mean we have the right to sin all over the place. Rather, we should be filled with such gratitude that we’re determined to live better lives.

Not only does Jesus serve as our mediator, He also intercedes to the Father on our behalf.

 “Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intersession for us.” (Rom. 8:34)

 Have you ever been praying for a situation and when you didn’t get the desired answer, you figured it was because of some sin in your life or because of a lack of faith?

I know I feel like that quite often. But that is a lie from the enemy.

Jesus is praying for you, in your situation, through the storm. He is at the right hand of the Father, petitioning Him on your behalf. Jesus is without sin and has perfect faith; if there’s anyone I want praying on my behalf, it’s Him.

That means that whatever happens to me, whether or not it’s what I wanted, I can rest assured it’s what I needed.

Jesus loves us. God loves us. They are after our good and Their glory. So whether our prayers are petitions or pardons, we can and should have faith that the situation is under control.

We have a Mediator and an Intercessor who loves us deeply, and defended us even unto death. We can put our faith in His forgiveness and provision.  

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

2 responses to “Courtroom Drama

Thoughts?

