Talking Snakes

tumblr_ll1ms2CGpH1qewxco

I realized the other day that I hold certain preconceived ideas about Biblical accounts that come more from the pictures of the Bible rather that the words of the Bible.

For instance, I’ve always assumed that when the serpent spoke with Eve it was the first time they’d ever met. But in light of the Scriptures, that doesn’t really make logical sense. As a disclaimer, let me just say that this is mere speculation on my part.

We know that Adam named all the animals (Gen.2:19-20) and since he was able to christen lions and tigers and bears without losing any ‘oh my’s it can be assumed that he and the animals got along well together. There is no reason to think the animals disliked his new wife. And, when the serpent appears to Eve there is no mention of her being startled by a talking animal, leading credence to the theory that animals in the garden of Eden could speak.

So here’s my long-winded point: What if Gen.3:1 wasn’t the first time the serpent appeared to Eve? What if they had spoken before, even more than once? What if Eve even considered the serpent a friend?

Now again, of course, this is all just speculation. But the idea of it, I believe, can serve as an important warning.

Personally, I sometimes regard Adam and Eve as weak willed and foolish. I think to myself that if satan came to me with a suggestion of such blatant disobedience I would have seen right through it and sent him on his merry way.

Reality check: no I wouldn’t have.

I give into his suggestions on a regular basis. What’s more, the real danger lies in the fact that the devil is conniving and the path into sin is a slow fade. satan rarely attacks us head on; he’s too sneaky for that. The Bible calls him ‘cunning.’

We are rarely faced with obvious right or wrong choices. The devil often lures us into a false sense of security, he deceives and blinds us, sells us on the idea of ‘grey areas,’ he tempts us a little at a time and kills us slowly, so that we don’t even notice.

Unless we are being vigilant. Unless we are spending time in the Bible and in prayer, pressing into God and seeking His will in all things.

For me, it’s a scary thought to consider that Eve might have been comfortable with the serpent before he asked her about the fruit. It makes me wonder what areas in my life I’ve become too comfortable with. In the future, I’m going to be on the lookout for the talking snakes in my life that I used to consider harmless.

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

2 responses to “Talking Snakes

Thoughts?

