My Tombstone

meSc168

I was recently thinking about death. Morbid, I know. More specifically, I was thinking about speeches at funerals and the call to ‘live my life in such a way that the pastor won’t have to lie at my funeral.’

These days, we are told to focus a lot on our legacies, what we will leave behind. There’s a lot of emphasis on ‘leaving our mark on the world.’

It’s almost like we spend our lives competing for the biggest ‘Insert-Name Was Here’ sign.

Even Christians are telling each other to think about what they want ‘written on their tombstones,’ so to speak. Or what they want to be remembered for.

‘Leah was here and she was…’

What do I want to be remembered as? Well it used to be that I would have settled to be remembered as kind and loving, but I’ve changed my mind.

In fact, I don’t want any signs that read ‘Leah was here.’ I want the signs to proclaim ‘God is here.’

I want to decrease so that He may increase to such a degree that every memory anyone is left with of me somehow points to and glorifies God.

That may sound like a tall order but isn’t that what we’re here for? To glorify Him and make His name known?

Imagine, for a moment, what that would look like; treating every encounter with another human being as though it will be their clearest memory of you and living it in such a way that the most vivid thing about that memory is God’s glory.

That’s the way I want to live. Not so that I can die in peace knowing that people will have an abundance of great things to say about me. Not so that I can leave my mark and leave the world changed.

But so that people will have great things to say about God. So that God may use me and my life to make His mark. So that my tombstone will read not ‘Leah Was Here’ but ‘God is Here, Showing Himself Glorious.’

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

2 responses to “My Tombstone

Thoughts?

