Baking my Own Daily Bread

1600_bread_wallpaper

I came across Matt. 16:5-10 the other day and found it very interesting and applicable.

Now when His disciples had come to the other side, they had forgotten to take bread.  Then Jesus said to them, “Take heed and beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and the Sadducees.”

 And they reasoned among themselves, saying, “It is because we have taken no bread.”

But Jesus, being aware of it, said to them, “O you of little faith, why do you reason among yourselves because you have brought no bread? Do you not yet understand, or remember the five loaves of the five thousand and how many baskets you took up? Nor the seven loaves of the four thousand and how many large baskets you took up? 

I love the disciples. They are so incredibly human. You’d think that traveling day and night with Jesus and personally witnessing His teachings and miracles, they would get it. But they so often miss the point (Luke 9:46, Mark 4:38, Matt.14:15, Matt.15:43).

And I do the same thing. I’ve witnessed God’s goodness in my life over and over and over again and I still doubt. I still struggle in my own strength.

In Matt.16:5, we see that the disciples have made a mistake: they’ve forgotten to bring bread. Oops. And they think Jesus is upset with them for not taking care of the situation.

I do this all the time. I focus so hard on what I’m bringing to the table, on my ‘responsibilities,’ that I assume Jesus is disappointed in me for ‘forgetting the bread,’ not providing for my own needs.

Let’s take a look at two of the Scriptures I mentioned above:

When it was evening, His disciples came to Him, saying, “This is a deserted place, and the hour is already late. Send the multitudes away, that they may go into the villages and buy themselves food.”

But Jesus said to them, “They do not need to go away. You give them something to eat.”

And they said to Him, “We have here only five loaves and two fish.”

Matt.14:15-17

Now Jesus called His disciples to Himself and said, “I have compassion on the multitude, because they have now continued with Me three days and have nothing to eat. And I do not want to send them away hungry, lest they faint on the way.”

Then His disciples said to Him, “Where could we get enough bread in the wilderness to fill such a great multitude?”

Matt.15:33

Where was the disciples’ faith? Where was their focus? Answer: in themselves.

We have here only five loaves and two fishes.”

“Where could we get enough bread…?”

“It is because we have taken no bread.”

In each of these three instances, the disciples were totally fixated on the notion that Jesus expected them to take care of themselves and the situation. They were so sure that it was up to them to survive and provide.

In the first instance Jesus says “You give them something to eat.” He’s showing them that they can do nothing apart from Him, letting them try so they can know they’ll fail. But they take it to mean that they must somehow do it apart from Him and they panic.

But look at what Jesus tells them next:

“O you of little faith, why do you reason among yourselves because you have brought no bread? Do you not yet understand, or remember the five loaves of the five thousand and how many baskets you took up? Nor the seven loaves of the four thousand and how many large baskets you took up?”

 Jesus is essentially saying, “After all this time, don’t you trust Me to provide? Haven’t I shown you that I am your bread, I am your provision?”

I get so focused on what I ‘need’ to do for God, in my own strength. I’m always so certain that I need to bring the bread.

But Jesus is my bread.

Jesus is my peace.

Jesus is my joy.

Jesus is my provision.

Jesus is my salvation.

Jesus is.

I am not, cannot, should not even try to be the things I need, create the things I need, or find the things I need outside of Jesus.

He is waiting here to provide for me and love on me and show me what matters in life. Him.

And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.”

Luke 10:41-42

Yeah, I’m pretty sure Martha is my Hebrew name. And Jesus is ministering to my heart and telling me to rest in Him. He’s telling me to stop trying to bake my own daily bread.

He is my bread.

He is the One Thing. 

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

8 responses to “Baking my Own Daily Bread

Thoughts?

