All the Answers

1876e089a9fa9016ea7f25e9a75a2526

I’m very tempted to just rewrite the entire book The Hiding Place here because it has so many wonderful lessons. But it would be simpler for all involved if I just let you read the book for yourself.

There is one more story from the book that I wanted to share though, since it’s one of my favorites and answers a lot of questions I have.

Corrie is talking about a time when she was ten or eleven, she was riding on the train with her father and took the opportunity to ask him a difficult question on a delicate topic.

He turned to look at me, as he always did when answering a question, but to my surprise he said nothing. At last he stood up, lifted his traveling case from the rack over our heads, and set it on the floor.

“Will you carry it off the train, Corrie?” he said.

I stood up and tugged at it. It was crammed with the watches and spare parts he had purchased that morning.

“It’s too heavy,” I said.

“Yes,” he said. “And it would be a pretty poor father who would ask his little girl to carry such a load. It’s the same way, Corrie, with knowledge. Some knowledge is too heavy for children. When you are older and stronger you can bear it. For now you must trust me to carry it for you.”

And I was satisfied. More than satisfied – wonderfully at peace. There were answers to this and all my hard questions – for now I was content to leave them in my father’s keeping.

-The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom

How often I cry out to the Lord with the complaint that ‘I just don’t understand!’ But….

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.
“For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways,
And My thoughts than your thoughts.

Is. 55:8-9

God has it figured out. And He has a very good reason for not explaining everything to me. I believe that He has all the answers and I know that I can trust Him to carry that knowledge for me.

“Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
It is high, I cannot attain it.”

Ps. 139:6

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

10 responses to “All the Answers

Thoughts?

