Items Sold Separately

4067740_f496

When I was little, I was big into Barbie Dolls. My sisters and I played with them all the time. When birthdays and Christmas rolled around, anything ‘Barbie Land’ was a safe bet for a gift.

We would un-rap new dolls, outfits, furniture sets, whatever, and be elated for all of five minutes. Then we’d really look at the box and the advertisement pictures thereon. You know, the ‘Items Sold Separately’ pictures.

“Oh,” we’d say to each other. “Look at that beautiful dream house. I wish we had that to put our new dolls in.”

I do the same thing today. If you’ve been following my blog for the last few months, you’ll notice that I’ve mentioned my husband’s job search more than once. Well, praise report, he found work!

He works part time as a tax preparer and full time at a temp job. Both jobs are a major blessing and though I miss him like crazy when he’s gone all day, we are both very grateful for the money.

An interesting timing aspect of the job is that the contract on it runs out ten days before our lease does. We’re not sure yet what the new rent will be, but just in case it goes up, I’ve started looking for a new place to stay.

I’ve discovered that a mortgage on a small condo or townhouse could well be less than the rent we pay for an apartment now. So I’ve decided I want a house. And when I say ‘decided’ I mean decided.

I’m heart set on the idea and try as I may, I can’t seem to get a release on it. The result? I’m no longer enjoying the blessing that God’s given us by providing work and money.

This new longing is robbing me of the peace and joy I felt for those five elated minutes after the jobs were offered. When I should be rejoicing and praising my Savior for His provisions, I’m starting prayers with the word ‘please’ again.

In Luke 12:15, Jesus says:

“Take heed and beware of covetousness,for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.”

There is no life in the things of this world. Each wish once granted will only lead to another wish. I may get my dream house but I won’t even be unpacked before wanting new curtains and wall paper.

See, I’m wise to the enemy’s scheme. I know that want only breads more want. I know the enemy’s here to steal, kill and destroy (John10:10).  By the grace of God, I’m not gonna let him!

Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Heb.13:5

Honestly, you’d think that would be enough. The Almighty Creator of the Universe has given me His personal assurance that He will never leave me. What on earth could possibly compare to that?!

So I will be content with what I have. It could be that God has a house for us, or it could be that we stay in this apartment of the rest of our lives.

Either way, we’ll be where God is, and by His grace, that’s enough for me.

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

9 responses to “Items Sold Separately

Thoughts?

