Wimpy Prayers

download

I wanted to share something really cool that happened to me earlier this week. As some of you may know, my husband recently found work after several months of searching.

In fact, he found two jobs. Unfortunately, both positions are temporary so we have already started planning our next steps. Step one: reactivate my husband’s CPA license.

I spent many, many hours on the phone calling all over the place trying to figure out how it could be done. When I finally reached the bottom line, I was slightly discouraged.

In order to reactivate his CPA, my husband would have to take 80hrs of CPE training. To compound matters, his license is in TN, one of only a few states that doesn’t accept self study courses.

So now, my poor hubby, who’s already working 70+ hour weeks, had 80hrs of class work to look forward to as soon as things calm down. Plus, we had no idea how much these courses would cost.

There was one ray of hope: the second job my husband took was at H&R Block and as a prerequisite for being hired, he had to take a 75hr long tax course. After being hired, he took several more hours of training.

Eagerly hoping all that work would count for something, I called to find out if these CPEs qualified. The reply was “Only if they were taken live in a classroom.” Unfortunately, his 75hr long course was a mix of live and self study, so I didn’t know what if any of it would count. All the other training he took was self study.

Nevertheless, I got together all my husband’s recent certificates and found four that looked promising. After going through the criteria, I calculated that best case scenario 61hrs would qualify. Worst case, only 4hrs.

As I sat in front of my computer, preparing to send the certificates, I began to pray for those 61hrs. But something stopped me.

I’ve been thinking lately on the power of prayer and about how I’m really timid in my prayer life. I’m not given to bold prayer. My prayers are wimpy.

I’m more apt to pray “Lord, do whatever You want, just please don’t let it hurt too much.”

I don’t think God is pleased with this sort of praying. Praying that the Lord have His will is a powerful thing and I believe every prayer should end on that note. But the Bible says in James 4:2b, “Yet you do not have because you do not ask.”

Obviously this doesn’t mean that we should all hit our knees and ask for BMWs, but I believe that God wants His children to be honest with Him in prayer.

He knows our desires anyway, so why should we try to hide them from Him with weak prayers? Doing so is like telling Him we don’t think He’ll come through, so we aren’t bothering to ask.

So I started praying, “God, it would be amazing if all these hours counted. Please let the hours from these courses satisfy all the necessary requirements for the 80hrs. I know that Your plans for our future are good and I trust Your will.”

This for me was a bold prayer and after I said amen, I emailed the certificates. Within an hour I had my answer.

Best case scenario, 61hrs would count. I asked God for 80hrs. He gave me 82.

My husband’s application and required CPE hours are now on their way and I’ve been blessed with a very tangible illustration of God’s absolute goodness!

Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

Heb.4:16

Are you coming before God with bold prayers or wimpy ones? 

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

8 responses to “Wimpy Prayers

  • Brandi Roberts

    Thanks fir sharing this! It’s so tyre how we timidly ask God things like we might be bothering him! I do this too! Your story is such a great testimony to God’s power:) He is able!

  • Renee Barry

    Congrats Leah! I too am a wife with a husband out of work (since Oct. 2013). We are praying big and bold prayers around here because I know that the ONLY one who can open the door is Him. So everyday I’m thanking God for opening the door — giving my husband favor. He is faithful and I trust Him.
    Thanks for the reminder!!!

  • Susan Irene Fox

    Leah – a big WHOOT-WHOOT! I forget, too, that God is so much bigger than I give Him credit for. Thank you for the reminder to pray big prayers. And BTW, love the photo. That image will stick with me and transform my prayers from wimpy to powerful and expectant!

    • Leah Ness

      I’m so glad you found it helpful! The picture reminded me of myself… that’s very often my expression when I start to pray for something! Thanks for the encouraging feedback =)

  • gettingpersonalwithmommadent

    This post reminds me of Jeremiah 29:11 and the promise it holds. “For I know the plans I have for you” says the Lord, “to prosper you and not to harm you, to give you a future!” Our God want’s us to pray with purpose and knowing that we can trust Him in all things. Even if His answer hurts at the time or is not what you wanted or expected, take encouragement in knowing He works all things for good and we are His children and He loves us. We would never hurt our children, but we do all we have to so that their paths are straight and walking in line with us, our Heavenly Father does the same. But you know what’s even better, resting in the fact that He is all-knowing, all-powerful and He holds the future in His hands. He knows what is to come and so He is the only one who can give us what we really need. I hope all of this makes sense! I look forward to reading more of your stuff! Thank’s for sharing!

    • Leah Ness

      Your comment serves as such a timely encouragement to me! I’m still working on praying big and hoping hard and the Lord brought Jeremiah 29:11 to my mind just this morning! Thank you so much for the reminder of His faithfulness =D

Thoughts?

