All that Echoes

100_8936_westminster_abbey

Here’s an interesting fact: a duck’s quack does not echo, and no one knows why.

Know what else doesn’t echo? Money.

It’s tax season again and like many of our fellow Americans, my husband and I found ourselves writing out a substantial check with the IRS’s name on it.

With all the financial upheavals of 2013 – from a wedding to an apartment lease to unforeseen writing struggles to a job search – the last thing we felt deserving of was a tax bill.

Dealing with taxes and the grief they brought just didn’t seem fair.

But I’ve realized something about money, and unwanted bills in particular: they have no echo.

Let me explain what I mean. In a few years, it’s possible that we’ll look back on the taxes of 2013 and think, “Yeah, that was an unwanted expense, but thankfully we had the money to pay for it and we’re doing well now.”

Fast forward some more years and say we’re getting ready to go Home. Looking back on our lives, how much are we really going to focus on the taxes we had to pay?

And here’s the crux of the matter: when I stand before the throne of the King of kings, is the dollar amount of 2013’s taxes going to make such an impact that it echoes in that hall?

No. No it’s not. What will echo is my reaction to it.

We as Christians need to live out life looking forward to and preparing for Heaven. Jesus said our life here is but a vapor. It’s time we stop investing all our energy and resources in this world.

All that stuff we worry about – a good job, a nice house, social acceptance – none of that is going to echo in eternity.

Even what we define as big things – financial emergencies, illnesses, accidents, death – those incidents in and of themselves will be forgotten once we reach the other side.

What will echo is how much we trusted God to see us through the hard times. How content we were with what He gave us. How much time and energy we poured into His Kingdom by loving the unlovable.

A large check addressed to the IRS will not echo. Giving a meal and a prayer to the person with the cardboard sign will.

We need to be living for Heaven, eagerly anticipating the day when we will see Jesus face to face. We need to remember that we’re on our way to glory, and place our hope in that.

“…even we ourselves groan within ourselves, eagerly waiting for the adoption, the redemption of our body. For we were saved in this hope, but hope that is seen is not hope; for why does one still hope for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with perseverance. “

Romans 8:23b-25

What are you hoping for today? Are you placing your hope in things that will echo for eternity, or are you just hoping to get through tax season without having to pay too much?

I encourage you to join me in really taking a look at the things we’re investing money, time, thought, prayers, etc. in and make sure those things will echo.

Because when I stand before God and my life is echoing through His mighty throne room, I don’t want there to be echoes of complaints and fears and anger. I want to bring a joyful sound before my King, a song of worship that blesses His heart.

How will your life echo?

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

Thoughts?

