Book Review: The Power of a Half Hour

17671878

The Bible warns us in Eph. 5:16 to be ‘wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil.’ But living in this ‘privileged’ age of technology, spending time meaningfully is becoming more and more difficult.

Almost all our spare time is eaten up by our favorite TV shows, facebook updates, pintrest goodies, and video games. Even during personal encounters, people are spending much of the visit sporadically checking their smart-phones.

Because I spend much of my workday on the computer, managing my time wisely and resisting these distractions is becoming more and more challenging.

That’s why I was drawn to Tommy Barnett’s book ‘The Power of a Half Hour.’

Though the primary focus of the book is time management, I felt like it all boiled down to priorities.

They say you can tell where a person’s heart is by looking at where they spend their money, and with online tools it’s easy enough to track purchases now a days. But what if we could track our spent time as easily as we track our expenses? What would our spent time tell others about where our hearts are?

One of my favorite lines from the book was “Time is the most significant nonrenewable resource at our disposal.” There is such truth in that, but it’s so hard to see in everyday life.

Pastor Barnett really uses his book to drive home the point that every minute counts, even the little half hours of free time that seem like such perfect slots for those facebook updates.

He goes through several important areas of life where time can be mismanaged and gives thoughtful, practical advice for redeeming the days, thirty minutes at a time.

There are helpful tips on how to deepen your relationship with God, build your character, strengthen your faith, improve your relationships, etc. And the book is chock-full of great stories and testimonies’ from Pastor Barnett’s life as well as the lives of his friends.

As I read the book, it made me feel very uncomfortable more than once. And I mean that in the best way possible! I felt the Holy Spirit nudge me over and over as Pastor Barnett outlined many ways we can use our time to love on others, glorify God, and invest in eternity.

I’m very tired of reaching the end of my day and knowing that, once again, I left no impact. I didn’t strike up a conversation with the cashier at Wal-mart to make sure she was having a good day. I didn’t bring my neighbor cookies and invite her to church. And I didn’t spend a half hour in prayer, talking to the Lover of my Soul.

With His help, the end of today will be different.

If you have the opportunity to read this book, I highly recommend that you do so. I promise it won’t be a waste of time!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free through Blogging for Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

2 responses to “Book Review: The Power of a Half Hour

  • Mich-in-French

    I am so guilty of wasting time wading through facebook updates and shares and random likes of nothing really worthwhile. This post has really made me stop and think – especially now that I am moving from working full time to stay at home and home school. I am going to have to be even more focused on what I invest my time in once the school day is over.
    I will definitely be reading this one and being more cognizant of my time and the impact I make every day.

    • Leah Ness

      I know how you feel. Reading the book was a real eye opener for me, and painfully convicting. I winced more than once.
      One thing that helps me is looking at my time as an investment, the same way I look at money. If I want to buy something but I know it won’t last, then I save my money. The same goes for time. I try to think about what I’m getting back for my time and if it’s something fleeting, then I don’t invest.
      Thank you for reading/commenting, I’m glad you found the post helpful =) Have fun with the home schooling!

Thoughts?

