Buried Treasure

 

1355537185_BuriedTreasure

I work part time in the children’s ministry at church and it’s been a big blessing these last few months. Not only do I enjoy working with the kids, but I’ve been privileged to meet many wonderful brothers and sisters in Christ.

My boss, for example, has such a passionate heart for evangelism. I love the way she talks, mentioning God and Scripture in nearly every sentence, bolding proclaiming the Gospel.

One of my coworkers has such a beautiful way of praying. Instead of using impressively long words, she just speaks directly to Jesus in a way that gives you the sense that He’s listening.

I’ve been comparing myself to these women, and the others I work with, and I keep coming up short.

It reminds me of one of the more well known parables in the Bible; the one with the servants and their talents found in Matt. 25:14-30. In it, a Master gives three of his servants some money to take care of while he’s away.

“To one he gave five talents, to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability.”

Matt.25:15

I often feel like that third servant, the one who was given a single talent, according to my abilities. I look at others around me and think, “Boy, are they being used mightily by God. He has a lot to work with when it comes to them.”

And honestly, part of me likes the idea of being trusted with only one talent. That way, if I mess it up, I really didn’t waste all that much. That way, I don’t feel guilty about burying it like the third servant did. After all, what’s one talent in the great scheme of things?

But last night, I discovered something interesting. According to Wikipedia, “The heavy common talent, used in New Testament times, was 58.9 kilograms (130 lb).”

Yep. 130lbs. Let’s assume it was a talent of gold, shall we? The current value of gold is $1,285.80 an ounce.

Suddenly, my safe and relatively inconsequential talent doesn’t seem so small. In fact, in today’s market, (assuming my math is correct) it’d be worth approximately $2,674,464.

Wow. I don’t know about you, but I’m suddenly feeling richly blessed and very well equipped.

The movie quote, “I am burdened with glorious purpose,” pops into my head as I consider the responsibility I’ve been entrusted with.

Of course, the work of the Kingdom doesn’t come down to dollars and cents. I’m merely presenting it in that form to make my point. Or rather, to echo Peter’s point:

“To those who have obtained like precious faith with us…as His divine power has given to us all things that pertain to life and godliness…”

2 Peter 1:1b,3a

Peter said we have obtained ‘like’ faith with them, ‘them’ being the apostles. The NIV says, “a faith as precious as ours”! And verse 3 says we have been given all things.

Don’t fall into the trap of comparisons. This leads to envy and complacency. We convince ourselves that since we don’t have his charisma or her compassion, we aren’t fit to serve. That’s when we become tempted to bury our measly little talent in the sand, rather than lose it on a risky venture such as sharing it with those in need.

But it’s gonna take a lot of time and energy to bury $2.6 million in gold. Instead, make it multiply by investing it in God’s Kingdom. Let’s pour out our talents to bless others and touch the heart of God.

I’m gonna go grab my shovel and dig up my talent so I can use it for God’s glory. Who’s with me? 

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

6 responses to “Buried Treasure

  • Rebekah

    Count me in. Also, wanted to tell you I bought your book and have started reading it. It is hard for me to get into fiction, but I could tell I would like this one. Congrats on being published!

  • Susan Irene Fox

    Leah, how funny; I was just studying this parable this afternoon for a blog I’m writing at the end of the month!

    Just the fact that you work in children’s ministry means that you are investing those talents! You plant seeds in the hearts and minds of those children. You give God’s love every time you offer a smile or word of encouragement. You bring peace and grace to each parent by allowing them to rest in the knowledge their children are in safe hands so they can focus on filling their own hearts and minds for the week ahead.

    Girl, you are producing ten times the original investment! That’s a darn good return! 😀

    • Leah Ness

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate your words of encouragement =)
      I’m prone to thinking of my work with kids as trivial because I enjoy it so much and it often doesn’t feel like work. So I look at people who are doing things that lie outside my gifting and think how difficult it must be and therefore how much more it must count in their favor. In reality, they probably enjoy what they’re doing as much as I enjoy working with the kids, because that is their God-given passion. I just need to break the habit of comparison and I know God will help me to do so =)
      Thanks again for the encouragement!!

Thoughts?

