A Blog Hop

cf93c8daec8de0dfd8d13c74ce4cb3b7

First off, I would like to thank Linda Samaritoni for inviting me to participate in this blog-hop. The idea behind it is to get to know other writers/bloggers better by asking a few questions. I’ve enjoyed reading the other writers’ posts and I’m eager to share my own thoughts. So without further adieu….

What am I working on?

Now that I’ve finally completed and published my first novel, I’m shifting my attention to writing my second. It’s entitled ‘Waking Moment’ and it’s based on the premise that if a Christian is walking in an ever deepening relationship with Christ, he will, at least once, experience one raw and overwhelming moment when he understands that this life is not all there it. And he’ll wake up to the knowledge that he is a warrior on a battlefield.

The story is about a young man who is just trying to provide for his family and ‘get by.’ He is a Believer, but his life has been less than ideal and he’s switched to survival mode. Then one day, he wakes up to that raw moment of realization. From there, the book takes an allegorical twist that I’m both excited and apprehensive to explore.

But as I keep reminding myself, if God gave me the story, then He will give me every word.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I was raised in a Christian home, homeschooled all the way through. I stayed away from all the major Christian no-no’s, had waist long hair, and wore a lot of skirts. Laura Ingalls was one of my biggest role models. Basically, picture the stereotypical Christian homeschooler and that was me.

Enter: my rebellious phase. I pierced my own nose, cut of 22ins of hair, died some of it blue, got a motorcycle license, and frequently entertain the idea of getting a tattoo. Can you say over-correction?

But that’s me. I like it one way or the other. And that definitely bleeds through into my writing. In my books, I strive to avoid many Christian stereotypes while leaving my strong moral and spiritual convictions intact. The result I’m aiming for is unique stories that avoid clichés and tear down stereotypes while still holding fast to the timeless truths of God and Jesus Christ as outlined in the Bible.

Why do I write what I do?

My ultimate goal is to glorify God through my writing. But there is more to the story…

I’ve always loved fantasy and sci-fi and when I was a kid I couldn’t get enough of it. This, unfortunately, lead me to read books that were not at all God-honoring. As soon my mom found out what kind of books I was reading, she took them away, leaving me no other alternative but Christian fiction. But at the time, all I’d seen of the genre were western romances, something I had no interest in whatsoever. Then my friend pointed me in the direction of Karen Hancock’s Light of Eidon series and I was blown away. Here was an excellent story-line with engaging characters set in a fantasy world. And all God-honoring and God-glorifying. In fact, God used those books mightily in many areas of my life, and I’ve grown closer to Him as a result of reading them.

Thus I was inspired to set out and write something ‘different’ for the reader who has yet to find that one story that feels like it was written specifically for them, the way I felt like Karen Hancock had written The Light of Eidon specifically for me.

How does my writing process work?

Wait, there’s supposed to be a process?! Honestly, I have tried, really tried, to write an outline and stick to it. But it’s no use. Getting my characters and their actions to follow a set outline is like herding cats. So I play out the story in my head, chronologically, and describe what I’m seeing. If I get ideas for plot twists, character details, etc. then I jot down a note on my ‘sounding board,’ which is a fancy way of saying ‘messing note page.’ I ask God to give me every word and then I just go for it. Then I edit. A lot.

All right, now for the groovy part, passing the questions along. Here are the talented authors I’ve chosen:

Johnathan Ness – My dear husband who wrote the book Your True Value. God used this book to draw me closer to Him and to help me root my identity in Him.

Sandra Ardoin – She runs a lovely blog that’s chocked full for excellent book reviews and (even better) some great advice on writing and publishing. Do not give this blog a miss!

Rosemary Mucklestone – She’s a talented young writer who has already published two books. Plus, her blog is titled ‘Writefury’ and includes a picture of Toothless the dragon and I think that’s just marvelous.

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

9 responses to “A Blog Hop

  • Sandra Ardoin

    Thanks so much for including me, Leah. This post is great for getting to know you a little better! 🙂

  • writefury

    Sweet! So glad you included me! 😀

  • Linda Samaritoni

    I am not a big fantasy/sci-fi reader, but I loved the Light of Eidon series!

    • Leah Ness

      Aren’t those books wonderful?! I would recommend them to anyone, regardless of their preferred genre, because those books have so many timeless themes and are so God-honoring!

  • Doin’ the Blog Hop | Sandra Ardoin

    […] Author Leah Ness sent me a sweet invitation to participate in a blog hop in which I answer four questions meant to inform you about my writing. I thought it sounded fun and have passed the questions on to three more writers listed at the end of my post. It will give you an opportunity to get to know them too. BTW, you’ll find Leah’s answers to the questions here. […]

  • Sue C.

    I look for Christian blogs and like you, I love Christian books that also glorify Christ. In fact I got so frustrated in my hunt I wrote some myself.
    🙂 I have 5 published books and they are all Christian! I hope you’ll check out my blog. I have become a follower because I agree with what you’ve said here. Blessings to you and in your writing.

    • Leah Ness

      One of the things I’ve enjoyed most about writing this blog has been connecting with other Christian authors. I love hearing about people who share my passion for stories that glorify God. I’ve already seen enough of your blog to happily click the follow button and I’m looking forward to reading more =) May God bless you and your writing as well!

Thoughts?

