A Tragic Retraction

As many of you know, I’m a strong advocate of the charity Compassion International. I blog about it at least once a month and have sponsored children with them for many years.

That’s why it broke my heart to hear that some of Compassion’s leaders have been slowly but steadily grafting the charity into the Emergent church movement over the last several years.

I heard this first from my boss at the church who used to work at Compassion. She said it’s only getting worse. When I heard this tragic news, I went immediately to the internet to do research that confirmed what she’d told  me.

I have not yet decided whether or not I’ll end my sponsorships, but I can no longer in clear conscience recommend the charity.

Please join me in praying for the leaders of Compassion International, that the Lord would open their eyes and change their hearts. And also for each of us, as more ‘wolves in sheep’s clothing’ pervert the Word of God in an attempt to confuse and trap us.

 

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

6 responses to “A Tragic Retraction

  • Karen Pickering

    I don’t know enough to comment about Compassion, but more and more I am convinced that we do the most good by our one on one day to day contacts with those God has put in our path. We all need to be more diligent (as our Father is) in seeking out those who need help. Unfortunately smaller is often better as far as organizations go.

    • Leah Ness

      You do make a very good point about the one on one contact and it certainly gives me something else to consider as I try to make the difficult decision of whether to stop my sponsorship. Thank you for your input!

  • Susan Irene Fox

    Leah, before you stop your sponsorship of the children who Compassion International sponsors, I ask you as a sister in Christ to please consider this:
    – We are all God’s children; He adopted us as His creation, therefore we are all brothers and sisters in Christ.
    – The Holy Spirit leads us all to be His light in many different ways; Peter was led to reach the Jewish people, Paul was led to reach the gentiles.
    – Jesus always reached out to those no one else thought were loveable, saveable, includeable; that is what the Emergent Church is attempting to do through God’s grace and mercy.
    – We cannot know how God works through others, nor how God moves to save others.

    We must not condemn (there is now no condemnation), but rejoice and pray in all things.

    Pray to Him for discernment and for confirmation. I will pray alongside you in love, grace and mercy.

    • Leah Ness

      I completely agree with you that we can’t know what God is doing in other people’s hearts and that He calls us each to spread His light to different people. The issue I have with the Emergent movement is not that they are reaching out to ‘un-lovable’ people (which is something all Christians should do), it’s that they are polluting the Gospel of Jesus Christ, watering it down. In fact, some members are even going so far as to deny the sacrificial death and resurrection of Jesus.
      God’s love can reach anyone, and Jesus most definitely reached out to sinners everyone else thought were too far gone. But then He told them to sin no more. There is now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus. The Bible says we must believe in our hearts and confess with our mouths that Jesus is Lord in order to be saved. Those who do not do that are not God’s children and need to be warned. The only way to the Father is through Jesus and the Emergent movement is not sharing that crucial message.
      This is why I’m debating whether I should end my sponsorship. But since the money is God’s and not mine, I will not do anything without a lot of prayer. Thank you very much for your input, I do value your advice. I’ve been asking many people and gathering council, but ultimately I’m going to do what I believe God wants me to do. Thank you again, and thanks for your prayers!

      • Susan Irene Fox

        Leah, I value you as a sister in Christ. I have never seen anyone from the Emergent movement deny the sacrificial death and resurrection of Jesus. I hope those are “fringe” members. My experience/reading has been very different.
        I know will do what God places on your heart, and absolutely trust it will come from prayer.

        Bless you, Leah.

      • Leah Ness

        Thank you. Again, I do appreciate your advice and prayers. It is useful to know that your experience/reading was different; hopefully the things I read were indeed special cases rather than the norm.
        God bless you too =)

Thoughts?

