Book Review: Entwined

Entwined_(Heather_Dixon_novel)

I’ve just finished the book Entwined by Heather Dixon and it was actually my second read through.

The book is based on the fairy tale ‘The Twelve Dancing Princesses’ and it is one of my favorite books.

Princess Azalea has eleven younger sisters and when her mother dies suddenly, Azalea promises to protect her sisters at all costs. When her father places the household under a year of mourning and forbids dance, she sets out to protect her sisters from even him.

Determined to find a place where she and her sisters can dance, Azalea soon stumbles across a magic door that leads to a secret pavilion. The pavilion’s caretaker, the mysterious Mr. Keeper, bids the girls welcome and invites them back every night to dance.

The secret pavilion is a dream come true, at first. But as Azalea grows and matures through the year of mourning, she discovers the heavy price of taking things at face value.

I really, really enjoy this book. Though it is not a Christian book, it is completely clean and safe for readers of all ages.

Heather Dixon adds detail to the original fairytale without corrupting it. I love the Victorian era setting and her ability to lend each and every character a unique and individual personality.

One of my favorite aspects of the book is that Dixon manages to pull off a female lead who is both heroic and useful while maintaining her femininity, something that is more and more difficult to do in today’s culture.

I also love what she does with the relationship between the princesses and their father. At the risk of spoilers, may I just tell you that it’s a really beautiful transformation.

As I said, I’ve read through this book twice and enjoyed the second reading as much as the first. It’s a beautiful book that I’m already looking forward to visiting it again. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys fairy tales, adventure, and romance.

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

Thoughts?

