An Addendum to Hope

162622236515126541_OKPHWNcF_c

The other week I posted about how the Lord has called me to wait with hopeful expectation. And I’ve been trying, honest. This week has had a lot more joy and peace in it than last week did. I’ve been claiming more of the Lords promises, I’ve been watching more carefully for the snares of the enemy, and I’ve been praying a lot more.

But I’m still waiting. And something is still not quite right.

You know when you have a nagging worry or doubt in the back of your mind? Almost like you’re being stalked by something, but you’re too afraid of it to actually turn around and face it?

Yep, me too. And for me, it’s my husband’s job search.

There hasn’t been any word yet and it’s been throwing off my peace and joy vibes. Every time the thought hits me that we are still unemployed, it feels like this painful little dig. And, in an effort to remain positive, I’ve been pushing the thought away as soon as it surfaces.

So over all it’s been a better week, but the other day on my prayer walk I was just telling the Lord that I didn’t like that about my life. Everything else has been going well, I have contentment in so many other areas, but this one thought is like a black hole, a worry that’s sucking my peace and joy right out of me.

And that’s when I figured out what hopeful expectation really means in this situation.

Placing my hope in God means that my worries become happy thoughts.

It means that instead of fretting about what hasn’t happened and what will happen, that I should be so excited about what God has planned, whatever that may be.

It’s like when you’re watching a magic trick. You don’t know what will happen in a seemingly hopeless situation (i.e. a man has just vanished into thin air and there’s no possible way he can return) but you have faith in the magician to amaze you with his trick. You know you couldn’t do anything with the situation, but you trust that the finale will be mind-blowing.

It should be that way with waiting on God. I shouldn’t settle for slightly cloudy skies with a chance of rain. God wants me basking in His sunlight!

So from now on, whenever I feel that pesky doubt, that paper tiger, stalking me, I’m going to turn around and confront it head on. Because fear has no place in a heart that’s full of Jesus. Perfect love casts out fear.

I need to examine that black hole to see what’s at the heart of it, whether it’s a grudge that keeps me from trusting God, greed and discontent, impatience, idolatry, what have you. Once I find that sin, I need to repent of it, and cast it far from me. Then I replace that old doubt with a happy thought.

The thought that Jesus loves me and can do anything He wants with this situation. The thought that the Almighty Creator of the universe hears every word I say, and every word I don’t; my prayer reaches Him directly and immediately, it doesn’t get stuck in an in-box. The thought that He has everything under control and it’s all going according to His plan. The thought that He is faithful and cannot break His promises.

The thought that hope does not disappoint!

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

12 responses to “An Addendum to Hope

  • Susan Irene Fox

    Wandering in the wilderness is tough, but when we have faith in Him, we also have faith in His perfect timing.

    Heavenly Father, we lift up Leah and husband to you now and pray for your perfect job for him in your impeccably perfect timing. We pray in the meantime for your provision for them, and and your perfect love to abide in their hearts, which casts away all doubt and fear. We pray for joyful expectation in your promises of great plans for them, for a future filled with hope. We lift this prayer in our Lord Jesus’ name.

    • Leah Ness

      Thank you so, so much Susan! Your prayer is a great blessing and encouragement to me =D You are absolutely right, His timing is always on time. And I’m thinking I should start relishing every moment He’s given me rather than waiting impatiently for them to all run out. Thanks again so much for the encouragement!

  • thoughtsoftheunamed

    This post is a beautiful example of how to place one’s trust and faith in God in all situations. I am confident that God will place you and your husband in positions that are best suited to your family’s needs and His will for your life. Keep the faith, I’ll be praying for you and your family, and thank you for liking my first blog post! Please feel free to follow me as well, if you’re interested. Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    • Leah Ness

      Thank you so much for your encouragement =) I’m so grateful for all the prayers I can get! Thanks for reading/commenting as well as for the follow. I was sure I’d followed your blog only do discover that I hadn’t; I have since rectified the situation and I’m looking forward to reading more of your work!

  • Cyndi Gates

    Loved your post again! Wisdom wraped eloquence.

    I’ve been where you are and can tell you the battle you are facing is not necessarily due to past sin. In fact, I rather doubt that it is.

    This is spiritual warfare and it is fought in your mind & won with your mouth & actions. Jesus fought the devil with Scripture.

    That is exactly how we are to fight these doubts that attact our peace. Speaking scripture; speaking to our mountains in faith. See Mark 11:22-26.

    Also:
    11Cor. 10:5
    “Cast down imaginations and evey high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.”

    You will be fine. God is faithful. And think of the wonderful testimony you will have when this is over!

    And keep supporting that hubby of yours. As hard as this trial is on you, it is bound to be much harder on your hubby because he bears the burden of being the breadwinner.

    • Leah Ness

      Thank you, I’m glad you liked the post =) I agree with you that our battle isn’t due to past sins. I think it’s more that worrying and complaining are sins that steal our joy and peace, and those are the ones I’m striving to repent of. Besides, all complaining gets you is one more trip around Mt. Sinai 😉
      You’re absolutely right, God is Faithful! And I know He will provide for us =) Thank you for the encouragement and the verse. I’ll give Johnathan a big hug for you!

  • writefury

    I always really liked Jeremiah 29:11 on the topic of trusting God with my future. Every time I read it it’s just like a nice little hug, a reminder that God loves me.
    Praying for you! 🙂

  • hankdo2014

    Leah,
    I understand this experience you and your husband is going through, especially when I am unemployed and have been for the last 4 months. God always answers our prayer, sometimes in ways we like and others not so.
    I do have one recommendation if you are unemployed and have no other significant responsibilities. Attend Mass if you are Catholic or considering to join the Catholic Church or attend your local parish daily services. God will speak to you this way too.

    Prayers for a “surprise” employment or opportunity soon for you and your husband.

    Blessings,
    Hank

    • Leah Ness

      I empathize with your plight; job searching is no fun. But you’re right, God answers all our prayers in the way and time He knows to be best.
      Thank you for your solid advise. My husband and I moved to Houston five weeks ago, consequently leaving behind a wonderful church in Colorado Springs. Since then, and especially with the stress from the job search, I’ve found myself longing more and more just to rest in the house of the Lord. We’ve done some ‘church shopping’ since we got here and we’re currently attending a church we like very much. Though they don’t offer services every day, unfortunately, I drink deeply of our time there Sunday mornings and I’m looking forward to getting more involved in the church happenings throughout the week.
      Thank you again for your advice as well as your words of encouragement =) I’ll be remembering your job search in my prayers as well.

Thoughts?

