The S.S. Colorado

 Drowning-wolves-33297948-499-481

As many of you who follow my blog know, my husband and I embarked on an adventure about two and half months ago: Houston. We moved down here without family, friends, a job, etc.

Why? Because we believed God was calling us to do so.

I’ve likened it to walking on the waves with Him. Or, in less spiritual terms, scary as all get out!

Here we are, ten weeks later without a job, without any idea where God is leading us, or why we are here.

But boy have we been learning a lot! On faith, on praising Him in the storm, on idols, on faith… you get the picture.

But like all good lessons, these come with occasional surprise quizzes. Like the one we got last night when we found out that we might have to spend $300 to get CPA reciprocity for Texas.

When I heard that, my first thought was “The CPA license is perfectly good in Colorado… Get in the car, we’re going back!”

But Jesus isn’t in Colorado. Not for us, anyway. Let me explain…

I’ve been thinking a lot about Peter lately, and the faith it took for him to step out of that boat in the middle of a storm. But in my most recent reading of the account, I looked at it a little differently. There was Peter, seven or so hours into a struggle in which the only thing standing between him and a watery grave were a few planks of wood. But when he sees Jesus on the waves, he doesn’t say “Lord, save us!” “Jesus, calm the storm!” or even “Quick, get in the boat and help!”

He says, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”

It’s like he realized suddenly that Jesus wasn’t in the boat, so he didn’t want to be in the boat either. Human reason states quite emphatically that during a storm, it’s safer in a boat than in the water. But not if Jesus isn’t in the boat.

Colorado is my boat. But Jesus is on the waves. How can I not go out to Him? How can I stay anywhere without Him? I want need to be where He is.

And it’s safer on the waves with Him than in the boat without Him.

Just like it was safer for Daniel in the lion’s den than it was in the king’s court.

And safer for Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego in the furnace than in the field before the idol.

It’s safer for us in Texas than in Colorado.

I’d like to tell you that I understood this right away and passed last night’s test with flying colors, but, alas, I went for a short swim. However, unlike times past, all that I’ve been learning came rushing back to me and I was able to remember to ask Jesus to pull me back up before I started a self-guided swimming lesson.

So I learned what I could, thanked God for His grace and the improvement I see in my heart, and resumed my walk with Jesus.

There is still no land in sight, but I have an anchor for my soul and it is well.

 

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

8 responses to “The S.S. Colorado

    • Leah Ness

      Thank you, but honestly, God has had to drag me kicking and screaming more than a few times! If it were dependent on my courage, I’d be in Colorado right now =) Thank goodness He knows better. Thanks for reading!

  • Steve Keller

    Often He gives you the vision before the provision…but you know when He directs He will always show up (and the provision as well.) I will keep you in my prayers as you go through this journey. Great post….great writing. I have been reading your posts for a while. Looking forward to reading how He comes through for you. I know He will.

    • Leah Ness

      Thank you so much! You’re absolutely right: He will provide. God has been showing me so much about His faithfulness, and I honestly believe in it more during this time of need than I did in times of plenty. I just feel privileged to be called to walk with Him. That being said, I’m still eager for the day of His deliverance and I’m very grateful for the extra prayers. I’m definitely planning for a big ‘Praise Report’ post =) Thank you so much for reading and for the encouraging feedback. God bless!

  • D.L. Kamstra

    I think I needed this reminder! It is so easy to be where it is “safe.” However, we gain the most spiritual growth, learn to be more like Christ, and are more likely following His plan for our lives when we are in turbulent waters.

    • Leah Ness

      Very true. I’ve been praying a lot lately for the ‘peace that passes all understanding,’ and my husband pointed out the other day that it’s only supernatural peace if the situation is so hard that peace doesn’t make sense. I really have to be more careful what I pray for 😉 But as you say, it’s how we gain the most growth. Thanks so much for reading =) I’m very glad you enjoyed the post!

  • Bob Jackson

    Excellent post! Thanks for the reminder we all need… our true safety is with Jesus wherever He might be…

Thoughts?

