Very Soon

Something a little different today: a poem. Written by my wonderful and talented husband.

broken-hourglass

Very Soon

Very soon now I shall go

And then fulfill my dream;

Very soon the world will know

I was more than I seemed.

Quite soon now, but not yet

For first I must prepare;

Quite soon now I will get

What I need to get me there.

Somewhat soon, a few days

Or perhaps in a week;

Somewhat soon, then I may

Have that prize which I seek.

Someday, if God wills it

Though the dream did not die;

Someday, no, I’ll not fulfill it

For time has passed it by.

Very soon now my life will cease

And I’ll have nothing to show;

Very soon now, I have no peace

For I failed very soon to go.

By Johnathan Ness

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

2 responses to “Very Soon

Thoughts?

