The Other Side of the Wait

04-18-11_light_at_the_end_of_the_tunnel

I had to wait twenty-four years for my first boyfriend, my first kiss, and my first romantic ‘I love you.’ But on the other side of that wait, God had prepared a man who was exceedingly abundantly above all I could ask or think. One of the many, many ways my Hubby blows me away is by writing me a poem every month on the 30th, in honor of our first date, 6/30/12. This is the one he wrote me at the end of last month:

We’ve been through fire, you and I,

And our love still remains;

We grow closer when we’re tried,

Love coursing through our veins.

We’ve had a famine, you and I,

Yet our faith grows stronger;

Lack shows us that we can get by,

Waiting just a little longer.

We’ve been waiting, you and I,

For purpose and guidance;

Heaving many heavy sighs

As we prayed for subsidence.

He’s been there with you and I,

Each day seeing us through;

I’m thankful for lessons applied,

But e’er more grateful for you.

Hubby wrote this on the other side of another wait; after a nearly five month long job search, he starts his new job on Monday.

Once again, I’m left awestruck in the face of God’s unfathomable grace and faithfulness!

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

4 responses to “The Other Side of the Wait

Thoughts?

