I hope Jesus Returns on a Monday

monday-mornings-2

 

(Originally published 9/16/13)

I have a pretty long to-do list this week. I have projects to get to that I’d really rather not touch and work that at times can seem tedious and pointless. And sometime soon, I really need to go on a prayer walk.

So I’d rather not do ‘Monday.’ That’s the way I feel most Mondays. The weekend’s over, the workweek beckons, and it’s time to conquer the world! Or rather, make my weekly vain attempt to poke it with a stick.

When I look out on weeks like the one I have before me, I start to feel overwhelmed and a little claustrophobic. The walls start to close in on me, if you know what I mean.

Then I remember what 1Cor.15:51-54 says:

Behold, I tell you a mystery: We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed— in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.  For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality.  So when this corruptible has put on incorruption, and this mortal has put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written: “Death is swallowed up in victory.”

I so often get distracted by the battlefields of this world. I try to do so much for God, win so many battles for Him. I fight so hard, in my own strength and often on my own initiative. I carry so many unnecessary burdens.

But the truth is, when Jesus returns, it will not be to fight by my side, or to command my platoon, or even to lead all the Christians into one final, glorious battle. God isn’t returning to fight because He has already won.

When Jesus returns, it will be in victory. He will come with a hundred million angels and every knee will bow. The earth will be filled with the glory of God, and all those who love Him and believe in His sacrifice will be caught up with Him.

God’s return is all about Him and His glory, not what I may or may not have accomplished for Him. All my best efforts before Him are as filthy rags. I cannot earn my salvation and on the day of judgment it will be Jesus’ sacrifice and God’s grace that save me, not anything I myself have done.

I’m not saying that this gives me a license to lay around and waste my time on earth. Rather, the assurance that my forever is secure should fill me with such gratitude that I can’t keep from singing God’s praises, telling others of His goodness, and living my life in a way that glorifies Him.

When my desire to ‘do good’ comes from a heart that is stressed out and eager to do things in my own strength, it’s not really about God. It’s about me and what I can accomplish for Him.

But when I’m just so filled with gratitude and love for my Savior and His grace toward me that it overflows into my life, resulting in fruit and good works, then it’s not the fruit itself, but God Who is being glorified.

When I think that any second now, Jesus will return to take me home with Him, even though I am me, it blows my mind.

When I really stop and think about the moment I see my Savior face to face, about the moment He tells me how much He loves me, anything I set out to accomplish with that end in mind is something I do for the joy of loving and being loved by my Jesus. When I’m dwelling on His great love for me, and looking forward to seeing Him any minute now, then there is no such thing as a chore list, and there is no such thing as a stressful Monday.

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

3 responses to “I hope Jesus Returns on a Monday

  • kbailey374

    It’s funny you say that about Monday. I try to consciously make my Monday “My Saturday,” and force myself NOT to have appointments or a to do list. Tuesday is soon enough lol…

    and I love the rest of your blog too, the reminder of why we do what we do. It’s funny because I just wrote a “Who Am I” blog and I did not really talk about that, directly; that what we do is out of love and for our Savior. Strange that I got waylaid…

    thanks! Keep writing! I enjoy your blog!

    • Leah Ness

      Yours is a good idea; it seems like a more pleasant way to ease into the work week.
      Yeah, if I’m getting burned out and/or discouraged, it’s usually an attitude issue: Where is my motivation coming from and who am I working for? Like Colossians 3:23 says, whatever you do, do it heartily, as unto the Lord. The results are in His hands, but I’m called to obedience.
      Thank you so much for reading and for your feedback =) I’m very glad you liked it!

Thoughts?

