What Perfect Love does to Paper Tigers

Image

I’ve been noticing a lot of unfounded and paranoid fears in my life lately. In truth, they have always been there, I’m just becoming more aware of them. And I’m noticing that a lot of other people are scared too.

This fear is hindering growth in my life at almost every turn. Fear of failure is keeping me from trying new things. Feat of rejection is keeping me from reaching out to others. Fear of disappointment is keeping me from trusting those I love. Fear of ‘what if’s is keeping me from living a full life.

I know we live in a scary world and there is a lot to be afraid of out there, but I honestly believe God’s best for us is to be fearless. 1 John 4:18 says,

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.

I know that a big fear for most of us is losing a loved one. Others fear that they won’t see their friends and family in heaven. There are more responsible fears like being able to provide for your family, or your child’s performance in school. These may seem like legitimate fears, but if the Bible says there is no fear in love, and Jesus – the very definition of love – lives inside us, surely fear has no place in us.

We start to feel weighed down with doubt and fear and worry and I think it’s because we have lost one of our most basic and powerful defenses against fear: Truth.

In Eph. 6:14, when Paul is talking about the armor of God, the belt of truth is the first element he mentions. In those days, the belt not only kept the armor in place, but was also usually wide enough to cover and protect many vital organs. Not something you would want to forget at home.

The trouble is, that truth is under attack, and has been since the dawn of time. Satan tricked Eve into eating the forbidden fruit by lying to her and accusing God of lying, attacking the very heart of truth. We’ve been doubting God ever since.  

In society today, we are being accosted with the notion that absolutes do not exist, there is no right or wrong, and everyone’s opinion is correct. The only time anyone is wrong is when they say someone else is wrong.

We don’t know who to believe anymore so we are just accepting that ‘everyone is right.’ Whatever the media says is being accepted as true and infallible. The ‘theory’ of evolution is being taught in our schools as fact. The thought that our teachers, reporters, and favorite political leaders could be wrong, or even flat out lying, is not one that crosses our minds.

One of God’s greatest gifts to us was free will and we are giving it up. We are gradually losing our capacity for independent thought. Society would have us believe we are more open and free minded than ever, but that’s not the case. By telling everyone they are right, we have inadvertently been closing our minds to the possibility that we are wrong.

We need to begin searching for truth again. Truth, in its purest and most correct form, can be found in the Bible. I know that I know that God is all powerful, that He created the world, that He sent His one and only Son to die for my sins, and that He loves me.

But please, do not take my word for it. Don’t take anyone’s word for it. Find out for yourself.

If you have never read the Bible, but have only heard about it from others, then please, pick it up and read some of it. Make your own decisions and draw your own conclusions. Stop taking it for granted that everyone is right and you can trust their opinions. Find the truth for yourself.

God is the ultimate source of truth and He will be found by those who seek Him (Deut. 4:29). And satan knows this. Why else would he fight so hard against truth? He knows that if we really start looking for truth, we will find God.

I’m sick and tired of being afraid of the unknown. I have found truth in the Word of God and I’m going to dig deeper and find more truths to wield against the fears in my life. I’m going to start taking God at His word and listen to His truth above all others. Only then will I be able to defeat the paper tigers in my life and begin to be ‘made perfect in love.’

(Originally published 9/17/13)

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

7 responses to “What Perfect Love does to Paper Tigers

  • tenacious follower

    I really enjoyed this post, Isaiah 43:1. I can really identify with a lot of the fears you mentioned. This has been a great inspiration and push for me. I’ve also been afraid of the unknown for some time now and you’re right, it’s time to put all my trust in God and move forward. I think many will find this post helpful. God bless!

  • Cyndi Gates

    Excellent post … again.

    I really think God is trying to get this message to all of His kids, and to the world; “There is no fear in His love.” He has been dealing with me about the very same thing. So refreshing to read that He’s also helping you get rid of fears.

    “With God all things are possible”-even things that are impossible to man, like living a fear-free life. If Jesus told us to “Fear Not!” (and He did several hundred times throughout the Bible)–I heard once that the Bible says, “Fear not” 365 times, enough for every day of the year. Interesting.) then it must be possible. Thank God for His Truth, Who indeed sets us free from fear and secures us into His love with unfailing victory. He is, after all, The Author and Finisher of our faith.

    Thank you for your thought-provoking and wise post. God bless you and your hubby in Jesus’ name.

    • Leah Ness

      Thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. God has indeed been working in my heart in this area. I’m glad to hear I’m not alone and that it blessed you. Thank you for reading and for your kind words =) God bless!

  • adoptedbylove

    I love this!!! So needed!!! Great piece.

Thoughts?

