We Don’t Have to Worry About Money Any More!

Image

(Originally Published 9/13/13)

My husband is searching for a job. I was praying about this yesterday because I have a mix of emotions on the subject. One sentence that popped into my prayer (more than once, sadly) was, “Lord, I just don’t want to worry about money anymore.” Every time I said it, I cringed at myself and heard God reply, quite clearly, “Then don’t.”

I seem to think the only way I can have peace of mind in this area, is if we are receiving a hefty income. And after all, as Christians we are called to be wise stewards of our money, so finances are a legitimate concern, right? If I were to stop worrying about money, that would be irresponsible, wouldn’t it?

No, because worry is a sin. I am supposed to trust God with everything. I’m supposed to believe that He can handle the responsibility. God does not need me as a financial adviser.

I’m not even honestly sure what I was afraid of. Whenever I’m stressed about something, I try to find the worst case scenario so I can come to grips with it, a preemptive strike in case it happens. What was the worst case here?

Was it that we would end up living on the street? Not likely since we have many loving family members who would take us in if it got that far. Moving in with family would not be ideal, granted, but it would by no means be a death sentence.

So was my real fear one of death by starvation? Even more unlikely. However, even if that were the outcome, what happens then? I would go to heaven. So I’ll have to strike ‘death’ off the list of ‘worst case.’

No, my real fear was that if God didn’t give us the dollar sign I had in mind, then I would not be provided with my preferred creature comforts. That’s the bottom line of why I was stressing about money. I wanted to be able to buy what I wanted when I wanted it.

I love giving gifts to other people and it’s tough for me when I can’t do that. I like to relax in front of the tv and watch Netflix. I have an addiction to crafts and being without supplies is very uncomfortable for me. Not to mention the lovely new smart phones my siblings keep rubbing under my nose.

But all these are extravagancies and ridiculously unnecessary. And it’s true what they say: you can’t take it with you. And a lot of the things I value here on earth, I wouldn’t want to take to heaven with me anyway; I’d be too ashamed to.

In Mat.6, Jesus tells us to store treasures in heaven and leave our earthly cares to Him. He assures us that we will be clothed and fed. When I don’t take Him at His word, and continue to labor to fill my earthly storehouse, it jeopardizes my relationship with Him because I’m essentially saying that I want these other things more than I want Him.

The reason I don’t trust God to provide is because I know that He will not help me sustain an idolatrous lifestyle. And I like some of my idols. Especially if they keep me entertained, comfortable, and focused on myself.

I can serve money by worrying about it and stressing about attaining more, or I can serve God, by trusting Him to provide for my needs and building up treasures in heaven.

Will I continue to worry about money? You bet ‘cha. But with God’s help, I will be able to cast more of my cares upon Him and tear down the idols in my life until one day, ‘I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.’ (Phil4:12)

 

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

15 responses to “We Don’t Have to Worry About Money Any More!

  • Alex

    Interesting article, really gives a person a lot to think about. I do however disagree with worry, in general, being a sin.

    When it comes to things outside of our control (floods, hurricanes, tornados, terrorist attacks), I agree…..let God carry the weight. But for something like money, our weight, career….if we are living out of balance, then we should worry! But the keey is to use worry as a tool for fixing problems and not as a long term condition.

    Keep up the great work!

    • Leah Ness

      Thanks for the feedback. I think we are using different definitions of the word worry. I agree completely that we should be concerned if our lives are off balance. It would be foolish for my husband and me not to budget, to spend money frivolously, or to sit around instead of looking for work. What I understand from your comment is that you view worry more as healthy concern and accountability for our own actions. When I use it, I mean a state of anxiety and stress that shows a lack of faith in God.
      Thanks again for your input and for checking out the blog!
      God bless!

  • megansmusings

    Thank you so much for writing this! I really needed to read this. I definitely have to remember what you said “God doesn’t need me as a financial advisor”.

  • Paul Worden

    Timely words that I needed to read. Thanks for this.

  • Derek K

    I have found that God will always give me what I need, the trick – if that is the right word – is to understand that what I *need* is not always the same as what i *want*.

    God has provided for me a wonderful fulfilled life, but one very different from what it would have looked like if He had taken my advise about what was to happen:)

    I am responsible for my actions – for “being a good steward” as you say – but a steward does not own the thing he looks after. It’s all God’s and I just have this small part to look after the best I can.

    • Leah Ness

      Very well said. I get ‘wants’ and ‘needs’ confused all the time, and I often forget that when God refuses to give me something, it’s probably because it would end up drawing my heart away from Him. Thanks for the insight!

  • greenlightlady

    I like how you worked through the worst case scenarios and discovered it wasn’t quite as bad as worry would lead us to believe. Thank you for this encouraging post. As a stay at home mom with three always hungry teens, I needed this! 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  • Brandi Roberts

    Reblogged this on How to make a fruit salad and commented:
    This blog really encourages those who worry about money! God spoke to me through it and I hope he speaks to you!

  • Brandi Roberts

    Thanks for liking my post! I’m glad you did because God really speaks through your words =)

  • bibleteacherorg

    Reblogged this on bibleteacherorg and commented:
    Great post! I love it.

Thoughts?

