The Christmas Scandal

sainsburys-christmas-advert-first-world-war-534812

A scandal has arisen in the UK over the release of a Christmas commercial by Sainsbury Grocery. The commercial (which can be viewed here) spends about 3 minutes depicting the Christmas Truce of 1914, with the end goal of selling chocolate.

Apparently, people are upset that such an extraordinary event should be used for advertising purposes… which, let’s be honest, is a tad ironic given that the whole season – one said to celebrate the birth of Christ – is basically one be advertisement at this point. (Yes, I’m Charlie Brown, I admit.)

However, I’m very grateful to this ad and its controversy because it stopped me dead in my tracks and caused me to look at the Jesus’ advent in a way I never had before.

We all know (some have experienced) the trauma of childbirth for the mother, but I think few of us really reflect on the trauma the child goes through.

Everything the baby has ever known about safety and warmth and care is suddenly ripped away as the poor little infant is squeezed slowly through the birth canal.

He then emerges into a world of lights and sounds and cold that is completely foreign and uncomfortable. The baby experiences hunger for the first time, and cold, and weakness.

He is totally and completely helpless, too frail to even lift his own head and completely at the mercy of the strange giants around him. He can’t communicate his needs or desires through anything other than plaintive wails.

He is completely helpless.

Now picture the Almighty Creator of the Universe, Perfect and Holy God condescending to put Himself through this.

Condescending to experience pain, hunger, weakness, shame, rejection, betrayal, helplessness… in short, humanity, in all its splendor.

I don’t know where theologians stand with this, but I personally believe that Jesus was fully conscience of His God state in the midst of this event.

And He suffered through all this completely blamelessly, totally undeservedly.

From the Lord’s side of things, His birth was more unjust, more scandalous than anything that has happened or ever could happen here on earth, in war time or in peace.

And yet He submitted to it willingly, for your sake and for mine.

Every year, we hear a lot about ‘the reason for the season’ and words like ‘gratitude’ and ‘greatest gift’ get bandied about. I feel like this discussion has grown stale, and we don’t stop often enough to think about what it is that we are actually grateful for.

We’ve been told that Jesus died for our sins, but how often do we stop to think about how He lived for them? If you ponder the physical side of humanity, it can be stated that we begin to die as soon as we’re born, so Jesus’ death really began with His birth.

I like the commercial above. The company uses the word ‘share,’ but what I see is sacrifice. And maybe that’s what this season is really all about, the opportunity to truly reflect on the Sacrifice that was made on our behalf, and the chance to look around for opportunities to make sacrifices on behalf of others.

(Originally published 12/1/2014)

About Leah Ness

I am a self-professed story addict. Ever since I was little, I've had an overactive imagination and a passion for a well-spun yarn. When I grew up, I was blessed with a passion for God as well. It was then that I noticed a relative shortage of unique Christian fiction, the kind that can both captivate you and glorify God. So, despite the hurdles of things like commas and homonyms, I am endeavoring to write some of my own. Check out my Books page for updates on current and future books. View all posts by Leah Ness

9 responses to “The Christmas Scandal

  • kbailey374

    wow I had absolutely no idea of all this (the truce) – I bawled through half of the “commercial.” Thinking, why can’t we as a planet have peace like that, at least a mutual understanding of Jesus. Even to be as “superficial” as that, to know on that one day that we believe Jesus to be the creator and savior of the world. I know it goes much deeper than that… thank you so much for bringing this to my attention! Did you see this? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2s1YvnfcFVs

    • Leah Ness

      I’m so glad you liked it! I heard about the Christmas Truce for the first time last year and was blown away by it. I was really struck by the fact that people tend to think of armies and soldiers in generalized terms, especially for a war we weren’t a part of. Like the numbers are too big to compute. But the idea of the Christmas Truce really humanized and individualized things in my mind. It’s a picture of what can happen when we stand up for our beliefs, even with the risk that we’ll be shot down. Thank you so much for reading and for the repost!

  • kbailey374

    Reblogged this on After Midnight: A Christian Bipolar and commented:
    WOW. You have got to read this and watch the video. My eyes are still puffed up from crying after watching the video. The blog itself is so insightful. Good way to start the month! Thank you Leah!

  • pitman6

    We really are “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms” aren’t we? Even when we forget that those arms belong to the Infant, God clothed in humanity, who humbly came as Peace on Earth personified.

    (I wonder how many people who watch the commercial are familiar with the hymn playing subliminally in the background.)

    • Leah Ness

      It’s true. I think we often forget about the fact that Jesus began His work here as an infant and spent year after year going through the normal growing process. That He would subject Himself to that is mind blowing to me.
      Silent Night is one of my favorites and according to eye witness accounts, it actually was the hymn they sang that night =)
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Thoughts?

